After weeks of public online voting, tonight saw the winners of the 2nd official Dance Music Awards South Africa being announced at a prestigious closed ceremony in Boksburg, Ekurhuleni.

Hosted by the City of Ekurhuleni, the honouree dinner was attended by nominees, industry players and selected key media, where the winners were recognised and celebrated by their peers.

The second annual awards were announced to the public this past July. Fans were given the chance to openly nominate their top 5 favourites followed by a finalist voting selection which closed last week. The online votes were tallied up by an independent auditing company and the winners were announced live at the dinner as well as online.

The ‘Pioneers of Dance Award’, an accolade which pays homage and gives recognition to a legendary dance music contributor was also announced at this year’s ceremony . This is the one award not voted for by the public but rather by dance music industry players. The recipient of this year’s award went to living legend DJ Ganyani “Master G” Tshabalala.

SA’s biggest DJ export Black Coffee walked away with two awards for Best International DJ and Best International Producer while repeat winners Lady Zamar, Black Motion, Lady Sakhe won in their categories again this year. House Afrika Records won the Record Label again while Metro FM’s Urban Beat won the Best Dance Radio Show award for a second year.


Best Male DJ

Best Female DJ

Lady Sakhe (2017 winner)
Best Producer


Best Live Act

Black Motion (2017 winner)

Best Festival

Spring Fiesta

Best Music Video (From Dance Artist)

Sun-EL Musician – Sonini feat. Simmy & Lelo Kamau

Best Male Vocalist of the Year


Best Female Vocalist of the Year

Lady Zamar (2017 winner)

Best Record Label

House Afrika Records (2017 winner)

Compilation of The Year

House Afrika Mzansi House Vol.7

Album of The Year

Da Capo – Indigo Child
Remix of The Year

Hans Seance – Elanora (KaySoul Remix)
Best International DJ

Black Coffee

Best International Producer

Black Coffee (2017 winner)
Promoter of the Decade

Jsik Bouhbot

Best Club Night / Night Club

Truth Night Club (2017 winner)

Best House Record of the Year

DJ Ganyani Ft. Nomcebo – Emazulwini
Best Gqom Record of the Year

Distruction Boyz- Omunye

Pioneers of House Award

Ganyani “Master G”
Best EDM Record of the Year

Cinimin – You & Me ft. Amy Jones

Best Underground Record of the Year

Dwson – Luna

Best Dance Radio Show Award

Urban Beat – Metro FM (2017 winner)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Help us improve the translation for your language

You can change any text by clicking on (press Enter after changing)